Featured Challenge #5 – Rain – Text #1

Under the Rain

by B.

Click on this link if you want to listen to the author interpreting her work.

Rain is flooding my heart.

As drops are hammering on the skylight

I feel sad.

 

Sadness is spreading

Its dark winged angel over me.

Joy has left me

Prey to its overwhelming shadow,

Turning my soul into

Its darkening widow.

 

It is failing me,

Escaping me,

Rejecting the opportunities

Life is giving me.

 

The one I elected

Keeps ignoring me.

The one who selected me,

I just rejected.

 

Life is unfair.

 

Cupid is playing a rough game on all of us.

Feelings are too complex to decipher,

And each time we’re betting our hearts.

 

Mine has been wrecked for years.

I am trying to mend it,

But whenever I tend to it,

And try to give it

Away,

It gets shattered

Right back,

All the way.

 

I can’t breathe.

 

My throat feels tight and tender.

Air is stinging…

My lungs.

 

I am suffocating.

 

His image is blocking

Anything else from happening.

My life is stuck in place.

His image, frozen

Like a spell in the air,

Conjuring up his face,

Is blocking all.

 

It’s unfair.

 

I want him,

But I can’t have him.

Is it that,

What I want,

I can’t have?

Or

Is it that

I want,

What I can’t have?

 

Or is it just him?

 

I want to run away,

Get out of this tight spot,

Run away,

Far,

Away,

Where there is hope

For a new beginning.

I want to

Hope, hop and away.

I want to run

And hide away.

 

So I am running.

Soaked in earthly rain

Drenched in pain

As I am running,

The weather in my heart is clearing

 

My mood is changing

I need to feel free,

In control, and see,

Now I am sprinting

Away to find me

Back,

And rising up

From my own ashes.

 

That’s where I freeze,

And cease

To exist

As I was,

And rise

As I’ll be.

 


Click on this link if you want to listen to the author interpreting her work.


110120160238

 

 

4 thoughts on “Featured Challenge #5 – Rain – Text #1

  1. It souds true and accurate. You explore all the aspects of the feelings in a beautiful, sensitive way. “Cupid is playing a rough game on all of us. / Feelings are too complex to decipher, / And each time we’re betting our hearts.” : those lines really stand out the most to me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

