WWW #4 – Valentine Special – Text #6

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-21-50-49

Always Loved Valentine Day

by Garry Vakarian

I was always excited about Valentine day, even before I met Motoko. Sure, together we were full of lovey dovey stuff like all the other couples. For instance, we synced our cyberbrains to the same romantic VR. Ours was ancient Egypt, a cruise on the Nile  -Pharaoh style – while enjoying the scenery, we would pose as a royal divine couple. We had always had a soft spot for ancient cultures, unlike mainstream couples, who would rather relive the 16th century Venice carnival, or go for a shopping spree at what they used to call malls at the end of the second millennium.

Like everyone, we would also share a special meal to celebrate the occasion. Our romantic evenings always started with high-end nutripills from Europa’s best pharmaceuticals brands, and ended on a sweet touch of decadence with a chocolate cake. Well, it was not very decadent per say, compared to the imported raw water from Earth consumed by the elite, but we made do.

When I was single, Valentine day was not a celebration of love but of individualism. Before the Global War, nearly all the mega-corporations sold Virtual Realities and the most popular were of the escapist sort. Why need love, or even others when you could live in your perfect fantasy like a king? Half of humanity was in a VR sim in the 30’s, and our society was rapidly collapsing. People preferred to stay in them, rather than go to work and live in our real, miserable, and hopeless world. The “Matrix Complex” was born. The name came from an old flick, or was adapted from one, I don’t really remember, and frankly I don’t care.

Anyway that was the past, and thanks to the Masashi Laws, V.R. were banned, and socialization became the pillar of our new society. Before those laws were passed, I used to “date” a virtual girl for Valentine day, so I wouldn’t be alone. I had a small fetish for small blonde girls, usually models or actresses. How original, wasn’t it? I had real feelings since the V.R. was as real to me as the real world, and she; I mean it, cared more about me than my friends did at the time.

Now, I’m with a tall adventurous Japanese journalist and I regret nothing.


 

Note from the author:

Just like Motoko, I have always loved Valentine day, wether I spent it with my very real, actual girlfriend, or my ex, virtual one. And cake, cake’s plain awesome.

7 thoughts on “WWW #4 – Valentine Special – Text #6

  1. “When I was single, Valentine day was not a celebration of love but of individualism. Before the Global War, nearly all the mega-corporations sold Virtual Realities and the most popular were of the escapist sort. Why need love, or even others when you could live in your perfect fantasy like a king? Half of humanity was in a VR sim in the 30’s, and our society was rapidly collapsing.”

    I love this part! You summon a world, a time, a context in just a few lines!

    Your imagination invites us to visit unknown universes in a very unique style.

    Thank you so much for participating in our blog! I for one enjoy reading your creations very much.

    Like

    1. To be fair, this part could have been longer and even more detailed if I hadn’t forgot half of my ideas by the time I reach my keyboard!
      It is I who thank you for letting me participate and share my work around other more talented writers! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

