Featured Challenge #8 – Gender Barriers – Text #2

Hollow

by B.

Do sadly deemed obvious, normal, regular, ordinary, base lines work on you?

Please friends, do tell me if they do. 

Moves awaited, repetitive to the point of expecting the slash of the next whiplash even before it is fired at you – do they ever, ever work, really?

Please friends, do tell me if they do. 

 

I feel dirty and overexposed. 

My eyes are sore from sights, they can never un-see. 

My ears burdened from voices, words and sounds, they can never un-hear.

My skin sullied from unwelcome brushes, grabs and other touches, it can never un-feel.

My nostrils tainted from scents wandered way too close for comfort, they can never un-smell.

May the next lines be served to the gluttonous, serial daters, who just fire their requests at will, acting as if they were loaded like an M15.

 

To those who don’t pick and pluck.

To those who shoot blanks

or pull the trigger on loaded guns at the heart of the non-consensual  crowds,

aiming at no one in particular,

yet sickeningly hoping a disheartened soul will fall from one of their darts.

To those who don’t offer, who request,

and who – brat king’s  style – can’t handle rejection.

 

To whom it may concern, here is my advice.

 

“Please, spare your time and ours, stop showing us your parts

and start working on your hearts.

Listen to my counsel, and see. You will not need exert yourself as much.

You will spare your ammunition, yet you will score something much sweeter.”

 

To brighter hearts, who lost their way. 

 

Here comes my riddle,

So listen closely.

 

“My whole is a powerful link

that can’t be accessed in a blink.

 

It is not…

A secret. Well-kept. Guarded. Hidden.

Yet it is…

Preserved,

So precious, lovely and tender,

to some, it has come to sound unattainable.

 

It is …

Clear, open and sincere.

It does not play, neither hides nor seeks.

It is earned through trust and care.

 

It is a bond shared and ‘come so strong,

Since it is forged in the safest of places.

That is where two loving souls intersect.

 

It can’t be stolen, yet it can be captured

in moments shared by overlapping hearts.

 

Its importance and relevance seem to have been lost

misguided, misused, misplaced in time.

 

Each occurrence has its own resonance.

 It is up to you to make it out.

 

Now all that is left for me to divulge is its spell.

The priceless feel – object of my riddle – is the original meaning of intimacy.”


“Intimacy”

Mirroring eroding attitudes

This treasure of a word has been corrupted.

It has been destroyed, cut down, downsized,

chipped to fit its current euphemistic use.

From profound and strong,

its lexical use has become mild and meaningless.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 04.06.34.png
Oxford Dictionary


Why did I write this piece you may ask?

I believe it is the sum of many experiences to be honest. Although at this particular moment, a peculiar friend request from an unknown Facebook user – who will not be named but whose torso appears below- was a forceful trigger.

The Trigger

This guy sends me a request, his name does not ring a bell. Just to be thorough I ask “Hey! Do we know each other?”

He answers “Not yet^^” “But I’d sure like too”. “You look amazing”

Cute you may think. Not for long.

I answer “Thanks. You will need to convince me you are not a robot and exist for real”

Then I get this picture

 Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 03.42.41.png

To which I reply “Do you often send your naked torso to strangers?”

He replies “No” “What tells me you are not a robot?” “I would have sent worse””but afraid to shock you” “lol”

To which I reply “Indeed that would not have cut it”.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 03.43.34.png

The French Situation

This event is just the tip of my everyday iceberg. Some French men need to be educated. I have lived and travelled abroad and nowhere else have I ever had that much crap thrown at me.

Disclaimer to the great French guys out there – as I am acquainted with a bunch – please know that all of you are not targeted by my rant.

14 thoughts on “Featured Challenge #8 – Gender Barriers – Text #2

  1. Je suis entièrement de ton avis. Il y a des goujats partout et des deux côtés. (Ca me rappelle cette fille sur un site de rencontre qui sans m’avoir jamais parlé m’avait simplement envoyé une photo d’elle à poil. Ni bonjour ni m****, je me suis juste pris son anatomie en pleine figure.) Je ne sais pas pourquoi les gens se comportent de telle façon – et je crois que succomber à des avances aussi lourdes c’est un peu manquer d’estime de soi. Mais c’est un autre débat. En tout cas, tu dépeins cette situation avec beaucoup de justesse, et ça fait du bien de se sentir comprise !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! C’est sympa comme surprise à l’ouverture du message. Je trouve que c’est triste. On ne peut pas tout dévoiler comme ça. C’est beau de se découvrir pour la première fois quand on se regarde droit dans les yeux et qu’on peut sentir et voir la réaction de l’autre. Par écran interposé ça perd toute sa magie.
      Je ne comprends vraiment pas la logique. Je me dis qu’ils ont trop regardé de contenus X, du coup ils croient que faire quelque chose comme ça tient du geste romantique.
      Merci beaucoup pour ton soutien et ta réaction.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel you. We are so used to such depraved behaviour in this part of the world, it’s not even considered a big deal here. It’s the women who are told to ignore, look down and walk away, to never retaliate. We’re so accustomed to wandering hands and letchrous eyes, it doesn’t even bother some of us any more, it’s just another struggle that you apparently have to cope up with. As for intimacy, it’s like looking for a needle in a hay stack. I love the flow of the post, I love the transitions in between. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment ❤ I don't understand this behaviours. I don't understand how they can linger and not die out in this day and age.
      It sounds terribly harsh where you live! How do you feel about it? How do you cope up with it?
      I am becoming painfully aware this aim is pretty much unreachable – still I can't settle for less.
      Thank you I am glad you love it! I got out of my confort zone with this post, but it felt like a necessary step out.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your reaction, Eric. I can easily imagine it to be true on both genders. I guess I am just confronted to the ones who are somehow attracted to me – which means men mostly. How thick can some people be though. It amazes me. What scares me the most is that if they remain that way, it means that their strategy must be working at some level. The guy who asked to befriend me had about 700 friends mostly female… That is a whole lot of girls/women who accept such talk! And we are back to your argument that both genders can behave very annoyingly.

      Like

      1. There are a lot of very questionable (and I think the term is being kind) people roaming the Internet. At the same time, there is a good amount of people of character. Weeding through that spectrum can be frustrating and draining. Still, onward. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

    2. Also the women who talk to me, usually just want to be friends, so they don’t feel the urge to behave like sexual predators to muster some courage and try to get what they want.
      I think we can talk of gender barriers in face of the incomprehension each of us feels towards some of the opposite sex’s unwanted attention and rude behavior.

      Like

      1. Thank you 🙂 I felt it was necessary to make it. I don’t want to sound like a warmonger. I am an advocate of kindness and care, I believe in men just as much as in women. I just find it weighs heavily to get through moments like these repeatedly.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

