WWW #18 – Forgive Me – Text #2

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-21-50-49

Instead of You

by B. 

 

Always there for one another.

Born a day apart from each other,

A thousand steps. A block away.

A bond stronger than anyone can say.

 

We were nothing alike. Yet, when we were together,

We were two peas in a pod. At six, we pinky swore

We’d have each other’s back. No matter what.

Life went on, and thirty years later.

 

Here we are, I wish I could say

“Girls, man, girls, it is all about girls!

They make your lines blurred.

They speak to you on a whole other level.”

 

But I betrayed you,

I slept with her.

I let you down,

I married her.

 

Instead of you,

That one time I chose her.

She broke your hopes, and

I broke your heart.

 

Our friendship is gone.

We used to be partners

In everything – laughs, tough times,

Fights and petty crimes.

 

I remember, that one time,

When we attached a string of cans

To the tail of your neighbor’s cat.

We filmed it, and we laughed our bellies out.

 

I watched the feed again, the other day.

My laughter missed your echo.

I miss you mate, I wish

You and I had fallen for a different girl.

 

But instead of you,

That one time, I chose her.

She broke your hopes, and

I broke your heart.

 

I wish I could make things better.

I love you, and I love her.

I chose me and I chose her, instead of you,

And Caleb was born.

 

I wish you could be his godfather,

He is a great kid.

He loves the ball.

Remember how we used to play?

 

For hours at a time –

Tirelessly throwing and catching.

I haven’t lifted a ball,

Since I played with you last.

 

Sam is the one who got herself

Together. She is everything

To that boy, and I love them.

They are everything to me.

 

Yet, I miss you, man.

I miss you.

On Sunday, next week, I will pick up a ball.

I hope you’ll join me.

 

I hope you will forgive me,

‘Cause I can’t forgive myself.

With much love,

And hopeless hope,

 

Your unworthiest friend,

 

Liam.

 

 

12 thoughts on “WWW #18 – Forgive Me – Text #2

  1. Oh! It moves you to the core.An oft repeated occurrence but you never read about it without feeling sad.Somethings things are bound to happen you cannot pin the blame on anyone.This is nature’s way to untangle relationships.Choices have to be made and respected.Acceptance and maturity goes a long way in putting things right.Relationships should be cherished.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Veena ❤ I agree with you. Relationships tangle our lives and no matter how much mess they can create they need to be cherished and our choices with a mature mind accepted and respected. Thank you for reading my words and taking the time to leave your kind reflection upon it. I appreciate it very much ❤

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Vinnie 🙂 I am delighted my words spoke to you and managed to move you. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for taking the time to read. I know it costs you to spend time away from your guitar 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. How do I enjoy reading your comments, Mister Lion 🙂 They never fail to put a big smile on my face. You see right through my lines. Thank you for your kind praise and heartwarming feedback!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

