Interview With A Writer – #2

Hey Guys! 

I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s post unveiling our first gem of the season. Here comes your second treat, an interview with one of our youngest authors, a talented young woman who writes and blogs under the nom de plume The Gold Hourglass. 

You became acquainted with her work, when she shared a flash fiction piece entitled Memories as part of our eponymous 4th Featured Challenge. Click here to have a read. If you want to learn more about her, you can pay a visit to her personal blog by clicking right there. 

Without further ado… 

Meet – The Gold Hourglass

Introduction

–       Could you tell us a few words about yourself? (Introduce yourself – where do you come from? – Where do you live? – What do you do for a living? – any dreams, aspirations? – …. )

I am both lost and exactly where I want to be in life.

I am from Malaysia (a small SouthEast Asian nation), currently living and studying in the US. I have always aspired to be of influence, particularly in shifting the gender norms and overcoming racism. Clearly, I also do love writing, and would love to be officially published someday.

***

Books

–       If there were one book you could recommend to our readers, which would it be? 

The Wheel of Time series! I know it is not a single book, but books end quickly. You need a 13 books plus series to keep you going.

–       Is there a book you have read that you think changed your life somehow or spoke to you in a way that no other book did? 

The Princess Diaries series! I feel like I can relate to Mia on so many levels, and it is my go to book to feel better.

–       Would you mind sharing with us one of your favorite quotes?

“I’m going to make an offer he can’t refuse.” (Don Vitto Corleone)

***

Writing, Writing Process, and Inspiration

–       What inspires you? What do you draw your inspiration from?

Fear, the fear I feel towards my emotions.

–       Which artists inspire you?

Marlon Brando for the activist that he was, JK Rowling for being the phoenix who rose from her own ashes, and William Shakespeare for coining the most usable quotes ever.

–       How did your passion for writing begin? 

I did not plan on writing. It just happened. In my early teens, I always turned to the pen and paper to write experimental poetry to feel better, and that gradually became me attempting short stories to procrastinate on school work. Now I write, because I realized I actually love it.

–       What are your favorite genres / themes? 

When it comes to reading, I love fantasy thrillers and mysteries. When it comes to writing, I’m still figuring that out.

–       Where and when do you write? (describe a typical writing situation – at a desk/at a coffee shop/ on your bed/ on the train)

I think I write at a desk more often than any other location.

 

***

Personal Questions

–       Do you have any other hobbies?

I love to dance and I have recently started making YouTube videos.

–        Which element represents you best? (water/earth/fire/air)

Air, I’m generally an easy-going person, but with a temper you don’t want to know.

–       Do you have a motto? Would you mind sharing it with us?

Be careful of the people you trust, and never expect anything.

–       What is your idea of happiness?

Not being disappointed in myself or anyone else.

–       Who is your favorite hero in fiction? (male/female)

Caris, from World without End.

–       Who is your favorite hero in history? (male/female)

No one. I think they were all selfish, and intent on their own cause, but thats is true for everyone, right? So, I will choose Indira Gandhi by default, because for a woman to be a Prime Minister in India, it requires being a hero in its own stance.

–       Who are your favorite artists (painters, writers, composers, movie makers, singer-song writers…)

Degas, Ken Follett, Dan Brown and Michael Jackson.

–       What is your favorite food? 

A Malaysian dish called ‘sambal’. It is basically ground chilly/pepper stir-fried with onions and other things. Meat and sea-food is generally added to this dish. Anything works and my personal favorite is shrimp or fish.

–       What is your favorite color? 

Black and red.

–       What is your favorite virtue? 

Loyalty, is that an answer?

–       What is your main fault?

Isolation and lack of trust.

–       What is your favorite place? (country, city, lake, mountain, house, room…)

The beach.

–       What do you appreciate most in a friend? 

Loyalty

–       Where would you like to live? 

I want to live in every continent for at least one year in my life, because living in every country is impossible.

–       What is your number one dream/goal?

To become famous.

***

Interview questions imagined by B. and answered by The Gold Hourglass.

4 thoughts on “Interview With A Writer – #2

Leave a Reply

