www #37 – Out of Breath – Text #1

Circus

Around me I see shapes

I am surrounded

Disorientated

There are too many forms

 

I can’t escape

I am a prisoner of this world

Of fakes and breaks,

And tears/i:/ and tears/e/

They come and grab me,

Try to catch a glimpse,

Cling to a piece of me.

 

I look around, and think I can see,

But I blink, and look again.

The scenery has shifted.

 

A circus of dames and lights,

Shadows so bright,

Dazzling princes in tights –

Grabbing arms –

I can’t fight.

I am trapped.

 

I run to the exit road,

But the sign has fallen – useless.

There is no escape.

I have to enter,

Face the house of horrors.

 

I open my eyes, and stare

Hoping to see through the masquerades

Special effects and make up covering

The lacks in consistency –

 

Glitches in scenery, traps, and gaps –

I trip and land on uneven ground.

A hand catches me –

Breaking my fall.

I hold on to it and look up –

So warm a smile –

 

A noise diverts my gaze

A feel – from soft to slimy on my hand

I turn to the breath that rescued me

And the pale skin has turned green,

The eyes, red and hungry.

That pungent smell – suffocating

– I wince – unrepressed

I run away and escape, barely.

Out of breath, I am disorientated,

And lost. I was almost caught.

Out of reach

I stumble down and break apart,

I feel my consciousness slip up, and fade out

Leaving my body to the night,

Letting her decide,

Whether I am to live or die.

Aware my eyes might not open to see another dawn.

Leave a comment